Please check with your lawyer, COURT, PROBATION, OR STATE AGENCY REQUIRING THE CLASS to verify if the online course completion is right for you. CALIFORNIA, FLORIDA, NEW YORK, and TEXAS typically will not allow online courses for a A DUI REQUIREMENT YOU WILL NEED PRIOR WRITTEN APPROVAL (FROM EITHER the COURT, PROBATION, STATE OR GOVERNMENTAL AGENCY) FOR ANY OTHER REQUIREMENT BEFORE REGISTERING FOR THESE ONLINE CLASSES. OTHER STATES MAY ALSO NOT ALLOW ONLINE CLASSES. YOU MUST GET PRIOR APPROVAL BEFORE ENROLLING.
Minor In Possession – Consumption MIP/MIC of Alcohol
MIP Minor in Possession or MIC Minors in Consumption of Alcohol
Enter Discount Offer Code Below at Checkout.
Your Discount Offer Code is: X23B-M92C
Under aged 21
In the United States, a Minor in Possession, or a MIP, (also referred to as a PAULA, Possession of Alcohol or Consumption (MIC) Under the Legal Age) is a criminal offense, typically a misdemeanor. In California, depending on the county in which the person is charged, the MIP may also be charged as an offense. Anyone who is under the age of 21 and possesses alcoholic beverages in the United States, with the exception of special circumstances, is violating the law of the state.
Punishments for minors in possession vary greatly from state-to-state. Since alcohol enforcement (and the establishment of drinking ages) is the responsibility of the individual states, only local and state agencies can legally write a minors in possession citation. As such, each state levies its own fines and punishments for a minors in possession.
In some states, a simple first-time minors in possession without any other circumstances (such as driving or public intoxication) may only involve a fine of $100–500. Often fines are reduced or eliminated provided the person convicted completes a program such as alcohol education, probation, or community service. In some states, a fine is eliminated, supplemented or accompanied with a loss of the accused driver license for a period of time ranging from 30 days to 12 months. For example, violation of California’s Business & Professions Code Section 25662, regarding persons under 21 in possession of alcohol, carries a punishment of $250 and a mandatory revocation of their driver’s license for one year in accordance with Vehicle Code Section 13202.5.
Subsequent offenses or a person with a preexisting criminal record may frequently receive a full fine, or in some extreme cases, several days in jail. In many cases a third MIP may result in a loss of the defendant’s driver’s license until the age of 21.
Exceptions to Minimum Age of 21 for Possession of Alcohol as of January 1, 2016
Exceptions to Minimum Age of 21 for Consumption of Alcohol as of January 1, 2016
Prohibition of Internal Possession of Alcohol by Persons Under 21 Years of Age as of January 1, 2016
Number of States with Family and Location Exceptions to Minimum Age of 21 for Possession of Alcohol, January 1, 1998 through January 1, 2016
Number of States with Family and Location Exceptions to Minimum Age of 21 for Consumption of Alcohol, January 1, 1998 through January 1, 2016
Distribution of States with Laws Prohibiting Internal Possession of Alcohol by Persons Under 21 Years of Age, January 1, 1998 through January 1, 2016